SweetSexySavage by Kehlani

Kehlani Parrish, more commonly just known as Kehlani, released her third album during the end of January this year. The contemporary R&B singer is known for her equal talent to sing and rap. After discovering her music in 2015, I was constantly looking forward to the release of new music from her bad ass self. Her music is nothing short of powerful and self-empowering, and the production style allows it to be catchy at the same time. She sets the tone of the album in the first track titled Intro, a monologue where she states “my condolences to anyone whose ever lost me, and to anyone who got lost in me” making it clear the album is going to be about the carefree attitude she’s assumed. This 19-track record made it hard to narrow down to my top 3 tracks, but I think I accurately summed the album up with these three:

  1. Keep On – This was the first track I actually listened to, and oh my god, I can’t explain how catchy it is. Ultimate bop. Honestly, the upbeat tempo and eerily real lyrics go together perfectly. The song is about a man who constantly allows a girl back in his life, even though she’s toxic and harmful to the relationship. The subtle brass instruments in the background add a creative take to the song, and I would highly recommend this song to anybody.
  2. Escape – This track is a bit more slowed down and sweet, and Kehlani speaks directly to a lover about how she can’t allow them to fall for her and lose everything. Instead, she wants to be an escape for them. I love this track for how real Kehlani sounds and the soulful nature of the entire production.
  3. Everything Is Yours –  This track is more raw with not as much composition, which is perfect for the moody love song that it is. It allows the listeners of the album to get a more intimate view into her life, and it’s equally a confession of her love as it is a resignation from a love life.

To sum this album up, the title SweetSexySavage accurately describes what it’s really about. All three of those emotions are explored multiple times through out this compilation, and I’m throughly satisfied with what Kehlani released. I would recommend anybody who enjoys pop, R&B, or just rap.

Until next time,

Mia

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment